Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-19-2015

Re: NOW THE LOCO IS ALIVE !!!!

hello, I have the same problem joystick (Alex) : Verifying .. Bad Data Checksum CRC, someone can guide me how to guide me how to repair this problem ???  regards

 

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-22-2017

Re: ns loco m2 lost his WLAN MAC and how to repair a bad flash memory nano station loco m2

Hello friends,

 

i changed my dead chip from an broken "UAP LR" and flashed it with an working DUMP from an working "UAP LR" (both units have the "winbond 25q64cvfig" chip. 

Than in changed from the good dump the MAC accroding to the broken units MAC.

 

Wehn i try now to Boot the broken unit i get "A13" Error at Boot.

Has someone an Idea? 

 

 

New Member
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-17-2017

Re: NOW THE LOCO IS ALIVE !!!!

[ Edited ]

Acidu, i need your help

 

1. How to identified mac address, such like 007F0000?

2. about chip, it must be a new one?

 

thank you

Regular Member
Posts: 345
Registered: ‎12-17-2009
Kudos: 34

Re: NOW THE LOCO IS ALIVE !!!!

[ Edited ]

there are some  print screens of a hexeditor  called i think HxD on previous pages...in any hexeditor you can search  by Offset ... but before all of this yes you  need a new chip... and a dump of the ``bad chip``  but in the  meantime i think ubi changed all of this  on newer firmwares and allso I think they encrypt some partition  on the chip...try your luck

New Member
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-17-2017

Re: NOW THE LOCO IS ALIVE !!!!

[ Edited ]

I m fail used with second hand of chip mx25l6408EMI. but before used i confirm this stuff working well. im not yet change 007F0000. im just erase and write. copying with good one.

I m follow utube such like https://goo.gl/e7NixJ

 

 

21684464_357130321399685_1966362522_o.jpg
21706009_357130274733023_1292806503_o.jpg
21706232_357130268066357_392596693_o.jpg
21767099_357130301399687_1776125062_o.jpg
Established Member
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎08-16-2010
Kudos: 567
Solutions: 150

Re: NOW THE LOCO IS ALIVE !!!!

Your ram chip is faulty, as only 4 out of the 32mb are readable

Probably nothing wrong with your flash.

loco_pcb.jpg

New Member
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-17-2017

Re: ns loco m2 lost his WLAN MAC and how to repair a bad flash memory nano station loco m2

Hi sda,
What mean label character on ram device?
Established Member
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎08-16-2010
Kudos: 567
Solutions: 150

Re: ns loco m2 lost his WLAN MAC and how to repair a bad flash memory nano station loco m2

Remove the two labels and the dram's part number is printed on the chip

New Member
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-17-2017

Re: NOW THE LOCO IS ALIVE !!!!

[ Edited ]

Hi Acidu,

 

1. I ' seen Mac LAN is "00 27 22 7D 05 79", in this screen which one good device?

2. I compare data hex 007F0000, these not same address location. can i copying?

3. According your data, Please explain caused i saw these deff Address and deff hex value

    007F110D-007F1111 = 00 27 22 4E 73 83 (Capture 1, Red circle marking)

    007F0000-007F000A = 00 27 22 4F 73 83 02 27 22 4f 73 83 (Capture 2, Red circle marking)

4. Upload procedure to Utube please

 

Caused my english too bad

Established Member
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎08-16-2010
Kudos: 567
Solutions: 150

Re: NOW THE LOCO IS ALIVE !!!!

Please read my previous post.

Your problem is not the flash, it is the dram chip. That is what you have to replace.

If you notice,  during boot, your log shows 4mb  ram, it must show 32mb.

Change the dram chip I have pictured in a red circle.

 

 

 

 

 

 

New Member
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-17-2017

Re: NOW THE LOCO IS ALIVE !!!!

Hi SDA, 

 

I see about RAM thank you. RAM should 32MB right? I didn't ask about RAM to Acidu. But I asking about Hexadecimal address such as acidu data page #1 of. I mean why offset data has different address between good nand flash compare with bad nand flash

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-06-2017

Re: UPDATE: another ns loco m2 had died because of bad nand flash

I need help, do you have a backup of the flash memory of a Nanostation M5?
Established Member
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎08-16-2010
Kudos: 567
Solutions: 150

Re: UPDATE: another ns loco m2 had died because of bad nand flash

Sent you a PM.

 

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-06-2017

Re: UPDATE: another ns loco m2 had died because of bad nand flash

It worked!!!!! Thanks SDA, I uploaded the file "NSM5 ... 00156D9C ... 1" and the Nanostation started perfect without errors, I did not try to upgrade to V6.0., With this it is more than enough for me.

Thank you very much for your assistance ...

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-13-2015
Kudos: 7

Re: UPDATE: another ns loco m2 had died because of bad nand flash

What hardware are you guys using for reading and writing the flash?  Are you using a clip for in-circuit serial programming?

Established Member
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎08-16-2010
Kudos: 567
Solutions: 150

Re: UPDATE: another ns loco m2 had died because of bad nand flash

Programming onboard using a clip isn't possible.

In most cases the chip is removed from the board.
I use a sofi sp8 programmer with a sop16 to dil adapter.

To read it, dd is used to read its mtd blocks, and a batch file to combine all for a full dump.
For XW hardware, you can forget about replacing the flash, as each dump is tied to the specific chip.
This also goes for some later versions of XM hardware.

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 11,657
Registered: ‎04-14-2017
Kudos: 2165
Solutions: 334

Re: UPDATE: another ns loco m2 had died because of bad nand flash

Please don't bump old threads.
Reply