Kudos: 2

Airtime and Aiming

Two questions.  Well, maybe more than two.  I'll be the first to admit I'm not a professional.

We currently have a powerbeam acting as AP to a litebeam client and a powerbeam client.  The litebeam is at 6.5 miles and getting great speeds.  The powerbeam is at 8.9 and not great.  I can stand at the client location 8.9 miles away and see the top of the building where the AP is located, so line if sight isn't an issue.  My guess is that my aiming is, but I don't know how to read the constellation to improve things.   You'd think I couldn't mess it up considering I can see both locations.  (The client has a drilling rig, so it's also easy to see from the AP).

Anyway, what's the max signal / throughput I should expect from the power beams at 8.9 miles?  What does the airtime indicate?  It often jumps to 100%.  Would the other client (which is almost perfectly in the same line of sight) interfere?  

Capture.PNG

Re: Airtime and Aiming

One other thing I just thought of.. our client is set at about 6 feet.  The line of site is clear but the 1st fresnel zone is probably not.  I assume that's my problem....

That said, anyone have recommendations for installing a 20 ft pole from thr ground?  I hate heights haha.

Established Member
Kudos: 313
Solutions: 48

Use https://link.ubnt.com/ to simulate(height, TX power, device's) your wireless bridge and post back the simulation URL.

Out of the blue you will need 30' both end's to clear the Fresnel zone.... in perfect conditions.

The current link look bad, if not ...

Regards,

Do not expect me to reply to this post, I'm not sure that I will be able to find it, thank's to ....

here's the simulation... which lead me to believe i could get 70 mbps speed at the client without going above 6 feet.  (again, not a fan of heights)...

Capture2.PNG
Established Member

As you can see from your simulation your Fresnel zone is obstructed. 

Think again, 2m/6ft is nothing for the distance.

Regards,