Established Member
Posts: 2,078
Registered: ‎08-02-2008
Kudos: 136
Solutions: 3

BulletM WDS/Signal levels

I had to replace a backhaul today hastily, a bullet2HP died and I had to replace it with a BulletM. It seems to be working fine, signal good and so forth, but the TX speed is bouncing all over the place, causing some high pings from time to time. I'm using this in Station mode WDS to a Bullet2HP in WDS. Using the RC6 OS version.
Previous Employee
Posts: 9,171
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Kudos: 24

Re: BulletM WDS/Signal levels

I had to replace a backhaul today hastily, a bullet2HP died and I had to replace it with a BulletM. It seems to be working fine, signal good and so forth, but the TX speed is bouncing all over the place, causing some high pings from time to time. I'm using this in Station mode WDS to a Bullet2HP in WDS. Using the RC6 OS version.



Hello,

1. Are you using AutoACK?

2. Please update to V5.0.2 service release.

3. What signal strengths are you seeing.

4. Are you using AirMax on or off?


Thanks,
Mike
Established Member
Posts: 2,078
Registered: ‎08-02-2008
Kudos: 136
Solutions: 3

Re: BulletM WDS/Signal levels

Hello,

1. Are you using AutoACK?

2. Please update to V5.0.2 service release.

3. What signal strengths are you seeing.

4. Are you using AirMax on or off?



Thanks,

Mike


1. No fixed ACK, 125% of distance.
2. Ok, but I didn't see anything in the changelog that would impact this.
3. -72 on AP, -71 on Station, the BulletM is the station.
4. No Airmax since it's functioning as a station to a Bullet2HP.
Established Member
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎09-19-2009
Kudos: 77

Re: BulletM WDS/Signal levels

The antenna problem that fried the first radio is now frying the second. Anyway, until you find what it is, why not use fixed TX rate for the bouncing AP ? I always use a fixed radio rate for any backhaul just for stability sake.
I spent most of my money on women and beer, and the rest I just wasted.
Established Member
Posts: 2,078
Registered: ‎08-02-2008
Kudos: 136
Solutions: 3

Re: BulletM WDS/Signal levels

Shouldn't have been any antenna issues that would have fried the radio, it just gave up the ghost. I can't lock the speed on the AP it serves clients also, and it's not possible to lock the TX to g speeds on the BulletM (or I would).
Highlighted
Established Member
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎09-19-2009
Kudos: 77

Re: BulletM WDS/Signal levels

....and it's not possible to lock the TX to g speeds on the BulletM (or I would).

I was wondering about my own brilliant advice after posting. Might have to live with the fact that you are using it beyond it's intended design.
I spent most of my money on women and beer, and the rest I just wasted.