Accepted Solution

Farm Setup Issues

Ok.  I am a farmer and not savvy in this arena Smiley LOL

I am attempting to set up a Rocket M5 connected to an AirMAX Omni to send the signal to 3 NanoStation AC loco units.  I have followed the instructions as best I can but I am not able to get them talking.  The Nano sees the Rockets signal but can not connect.  I assume that when I hit select on the SSID of the nano that I should be able to choose my network (in this case SME) and connect.   Any advice?_Soul_Miners_AirHub__-_Wireless.pngIMG_1856.PNGIMG_1857.PNG

Accepted Solutions
Emerging Member
Kudos: 9
Solutions: 5

Re: Farm Setup Issues

Yeah, you need a router / firewall to bridge between the modem and the AP.

I think you might be able to use the prism as a router, but maybe only if you can set your modem to pass the public IP through to it? I've never run a Ubiquiti AP as a router before, so take this with a grain of salt.

View solution in original post

All Replies
Emerging Member

if I read this right, you're trying to connect AirMax AC stations to a M AP? That won't work. You need an AC unit to act as an AP, for AC stations. M units can only talk to AC units if they are in AP mode.

Hope that is clear, and not too confusing.

Argghhh.  Thank you.  I purchased what was recommended by BH Photo.  Guess I should have checked here first!

Can you please look at what I have now and guide me to purchase what is best?

I have ....

ONE  - Rocket M5 & AirMAX Omni 2x2 Dual 5G13
THREE - NanoStation AC loco 5 GHz

As I understand I need to return the Rocket and Omni.  I THINK I need to purchase a  Rocket® Prism AC (RP‑5AC‑Gen2).  What Antenna should I purchase?