Scheduled maintenance: Community available only in read-only mode until 6:00 AM (PT)
Regular Member
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎08-16-2009
Kudos: 99
Solutions: 2

Great signal goes to crap-o-la

I have a Mseries bullet on a 16db sector antenna set to AP. And a Mseries bullet on a 13db panel antenna set to client, 4.5miles apart. There will be 2-8ms pings for hours. then out of no where It will go to ping time out about 5 times then 1-2 pings of 20-50+ms then i give it 20 or so minutes and come back to the computer and again im back to 2-8ms with decent throughput again.

client has ACK turned off (and on)

using Channel Width of 5Mhz

Max output power of 28dbm
other settings were left as default.

Any Ideas?
Previous Employee
Posts: 9,171
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Kudos: 24

Re: Great signal goes to crap-o-la

I have a Mseries bullet on a 16db sector antenna set to AP. And a Mseries bullet on a 13db panel antenna set to client, 4.5miles apart. There will be 2-8ms pings for hours. then out of no where It will go to ping time out about 5 times then 1-2 pings of 20-50+ms then i give it 20 or so minutes and come back to the computer and again im back to 2-8ms with decent throughput again.

client has ACK turned off (and on)

using Channel Width of 5Mhz

Max output power of 28dbm
other settings were left as default.

Any Ideas?


Hello,
That sounds like the unit is rebooting. Can you check the power/cable of the units?
Thanks,
Regular Member
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎08-16-2009
Kudos: 99
Solutions: 2

Re: Great signal goes to crap-o-la

Checked and double checked..

Its strange because it will run fine for hours.. and then just like that ping times go way up or no reply and awhile later its back to 2-8ms again


(and I am running the current firmware you posted in the forum)
Just noticed when it happens my CCQ is 4%
now with pings back at 2ms its 96%
Previous Employee
Posts: 9,171
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Kudos: 24

Re: Great signal goes to crap-o-la

Checked and double checked..

Its strange because it will run fine for hours.. and then just like that ping times go way up or no reply and awhile later its back to 2-8ms again


(and I am running the current firmware you posted in the forum)
Just noticed when it happens my CCQ is 4%
now with pings back at 2ms its 96%



Hello,
Do you have AutoACK on?

Thanks,
Regular Member
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎08-16-2009
Kudos: 99
Solutions: 2

Re: Great signal goes to crap-o-la

AutoACK is turned off on the client.
But on in the AP. (Since this AP services 7 other clients. wasnt sure what to do)
Member
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
Kudos: 4

Re: Great signal goes to crap-o-la

I have similar problem:
www.ubnt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13341

Two BulletM2 station in WDS and AP mode WDS

Usually 2-4ms ping, but ping times significantly increased.

CCQ normally 96, 100% when problems occur CCQ has very low value.

Sometimes the connection is cut off after a few seconds and reconnect again.

I have checked and reset the AP not only disconnects wifi, AP continued on, so no problem of the reset button.

I hope soon to give the problem can be solved with a firmware next

Thanks
Previous Employee
Posts: 9,171
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Kudos: 24

Re: Great signal goes to crap-o-la

I have similar problem:
www.ubnt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13341

Two BulletM2 station in WDS and AP mode WDS

Usually 2-4ms ping, but ping times significantly increased.

CCQ normally 96, 100% when problems occur CCQ has very low value.

Sometimes the connection is cut off after a few seconds and reconnect again.

I have checked and reset the AP not only disconnects wifi, AP continued on, so no problem of the reset button.

I hope soon to give the problem can be solved with a firmware next

Thanks



Hello,
Please disable AutoACK on both sides.
Also does this happen with AirMax on or off?
Thanks,
Regular Member
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎08-16-2009
Kudos: 99
Solutions: 2

Re: Great signal goes to crap-o-la

What would I set the ACK on the AP to? since I have 7 clients all at different distances? Do I just select the furthest link distance?

Yes AirMax is OFF
Regular Member
Posts: 557
Registered: ‎10-26-2007
Kudos: 5

Re: Great signal goes to crap-o-la

Farthest user plus ten percent would get you going...
GorillaNET.ca - gorillanet.ca/
For the serious Internet user.
Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference.
Member
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
Kudos: 4

Re: Great signal goes to crap-o-la

Hello,

Please disable AutoACK on both sides.

Also does this happen with AirMax on or off?

Thanks,


AutoACK is disabled in both AP

AirMax is disabled
Member
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎06-06-2009
Kudos: 1

Re: Great signal goes to crap-o-la

sounds like to me if your AP is set to auto ACK and your clients are at different distances your loosing your unit due to other client's at shorter distances than you. never use autoACK on the AP side in a PtMP setup. we usually go for farthest client+0.5mile just to be safe, or whatever distance after the farthest client works best for you.
Thanks,
Lee - levelOne Solutions