Scheduled maintenance: Community will be offline Monday June 17th, 1:00 AM - 6:00 AM (PT)
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-10-2019

Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

I am not a techie.  Bought PowerBeam Gen2 to use in the Bahamas as advised by professional in US. 

 

Hardware install went well.  I connect on the iOS app.  The device comes up.  I click on the device and immediately get this response: Error The request timed out.  I have done this easily within the 15 minute allotted time.  I have unplugged for 30 plus minutes and retried.  No luck.

 

Antenna is mounted on a roof aimed at an out on building where we are trying to get WiFi.

 

Any help is appreciated.

42C4A75D-0268-4FDE-99EC-FFE8869E0182.png
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 12,186
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Kudos: 3898
Solutions: 797
Contributions: 73

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

If you are trying to connect wirelessly to the Powerbeams 2.4GHz management radio, please note that it is only enabled for 15 minutes on after booting up.  Additionally, the management radio is very low power, so you may need to be closer to the Powerbeam to connect.  You should see an SSID that starts with PBE.

 

 

Alternatively, if you have a computer with an ethernet port, you can connect to the radio via the LAN port on the POE injector.

 

Did you purchase a pair of airMAX AC radios?  The reason for asking is it isn't clear based on your description and airMAX AC radios will only connect to other airMAX AC radios.

 

If you are still not having any luck, I would contact us at help.ubnt.com

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

FREE UBWA Student Guide-Great RF Primer!

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-10-2019

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

As I said, I have easily done the sign on within the 15 minute window.

Attached is what I see.

 

 

 

EBBAE106-B50D-4138-93E5-66A568BCFB53.png
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-10-2019

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

No, did not purchase airMax radios.  I am so confused.

Thought the PowerBeam would send a signal to the out building to allow WiFi.

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 12,186
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Kudos: 3898
Solutions: 797
Contributions: 73

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

Sorry, I missed the part where you mentioned connecting within the 15 minute time frame. Man Wink

 

In your screenshot, it doesn't look like you are connected to the PowerBeams management radio.

 

You can use a pair of airMAX radio (like the PowerBeam5AC) to create a dedicated point to point wireless network, but you won't be able to connect to them wirelessly with something like a laptop or phone. 

 

How far away is the location you are looking to provide wifi too?

 

Are you trying to provide wifi coverage indoors in another building or outdoors?

 

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

FREE UBWA Student Guide-Great RF Primer!

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-10-2019

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

Building is 200 feet away.  I have no additional hardware.

 

Our only goal is to provide WiFi to a laptop and phone in said building.

 

Do I understand that I need additional hardware?

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 12,186
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Kudos: 3898
Solutions: 797
Contributions: 73

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

You would need a pair of airMAX AC radios. The Powerbeam5AC is an airMAX AC radio that is typically used on links that are 5km+.  Think of a pair of airMAX AC radios as "wireless ethernet".

 

 

Myself, if I wanted to provide wifi inside a building that is ~200feet away, I would use a pair of either NanoStation5AC, NanoBeam5AC GEN2 or NanoStation5ACloco.  This will give you a high performance, dedicated, point to point wireless link.  On the remote side (where you are looking to provide wifi), you would have an ethernet cable.  You could then connect something like an airGateway ot airCube to provide Wifi Access to mobile devices like phones/laptops.

 

I hope this helps clear things up a bit, but please let me know if you have any questions at all.

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

FREE UBWA Student Guide-Great RF Primer!

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-10-2019

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

I think I am getting it.  I need two of whatever we do, correct?

 

Thanks for all your help.  We were certainly lead astray by our consultant.

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-10-2019

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

Can any of these other devices work with the PowerBeam we already own?

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 12,186
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Kudos: 3898
Solutions: 797
Contributions: 73

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2


@bahamas wrote:

I think I am getting it.  I need two of whatever we do, correct?

 

Thanks for all your help.  We were certainly lead astray by our consultant.


Correct, you can use any other airMAX AC radio, specifically, units that have 5AC in the model name.  

 

5AC = 5GHz

2AC = 2.4GHz models

 

 

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

FREE UBWA Student Guide-Great RF Primer!

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-10-2019

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

Would this work?

 

And what else do I need?

5A25663D-5980-418F-BCB6-1A60397BDA3F.png
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 12,186
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Kudos: 3898
Solutions: 797
Contributions: 73

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

The NanoStation5AC Loco would work, but it doesn't include a POE (Power over Ethernet) injector.  You could purchase one separately  (Suggested model of POE: POE-24-12W-G-WH) or another option would be to also purchase an airCube AC as airCubes can provide power to the Nanostation5ACloco and provide wireless access to laptops/phones when set to bridge network mode.

 

Could I also ask how fast if the Internet connection at the Main location?

 

 

 

 

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

FREE UBWA Student Guide-Great RF Primer!

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-10-2019

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

 
86A382AF-69E5-4595-9180-0F2E737579FB.png
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-10-2019

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

Could you please advise the most inexpensive way to accomplish what I had thought was a simple goal?

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-10-2019

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

Could you please advise the most inexpensive way to accomplish what I had thought was a simple goal?

 

what is the difference between 5AC & 5ACL?

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 11,657
Registered: ‎04-14-2017
Kudos: 2188
Solutions: 335

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

I would recommend using a pair of those and returning your PowerBeam.
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 1,592
Registered: ‎09-24-2018
Kudos: 315
Solutions: 92

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

Any 5AC device will link up to the powerbeam you already bought. This will bridge your connection between the buildings as if you had run an ethernet cable. From there, to share the connection over WiFi you need a wifi router in the building to broadcast that signal. We offer airCubes for this purpose as they are simple and can provide POE to power your 5AC radio.

If you pick up an airCube ISP (or airCube AC for dual-band wifi) and a NanoStation 5AC Loco, you'll need to run a cable from the airCube POE output port to the NS5ACL mounted on the outside of the building, and set up the PtP link and aircube wifi in about 10 minutes.

If this is the decision you make, be sure to check back in so I can help optimize your link.

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

FREE UBWA Student Guide-Great RF Primer!

Highlighted
SuperUser
Posts: 42,834
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Initial setup PowerBeam Gen2

'bahamas', you may have somehow got confused in this

long thread about a simple topic. For a 200ft link where

inteference from other radios in the area isn't an issue,

use a pair of NS-5AC-Loco radios. Don't use anything

else and don't try to use PowerBeam in any way. These

radios must have a clear path between them and they

must be installed on the outside of buildings. They do

not provide WiFi service.

 

Yes: you do need to buy two PoE power supplies when

you buy the radios--because they're not included.

 

Those radios will provide what's effectively a long Ethernet

cable between the buildings. With that link working, you

can add devices as you like. If only one device, you can

simply plug it into the radio's PoE supply 'LAN' jack. If

several devices, you add a network switch.

 

One kind of device you can add in the building is a WiFi

access point of your choice.

 

I am concerned about the 'scan' you just posted. It shows

a very poor link of some kind, with a very long ping time,

very high jitter. What is that about?   Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com