Scheduled maintenance: Community will be offline Monday June 17th, 1:00 AM - 6:00 AM (PT)
New Member
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-12-2016
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 1

M2 to existing SSID for garage cams

Garage is 75 feet away - dont want to run line. House has 2.4 ghz WiFi. I have an m2 Rocket. Need some security cams to be accessible from the garage. I have the device in bridge mode, DHCP, and lock to the SSID - but out of the radio, I get no routing/connectivity. 169.254.x.x address. Does anyone have insight as to what I might be doing wrong?

Regular Member
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎11-13-2017
Kudos: 176
Solutions: 14
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 1,592
Registered: ‎09-24-2018
Kudos: 315
Solutions: 92

Re: M2 to existing SSID for garage cams

You shouldn't bother locking to the AP MAC. If you're falling back to a 169 address, DHCP is not reaching the device. We need more info and possibly screenshots to investigate further.

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

FREE UBWA Student Guide-Great RF Primer!

New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-12-2016

Re: M2 to existing SSID for garage cams

I have no issue taking screenshots - antenna are off a CenturyLink modem but gets strong signal - just doesnt receive DHCP. 

2.png
3.png
4.png
Regular Member
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎11-13-2017
Kudos: 176
Solutions: 14

Re: M2 to existing SSID for garage cams

New Member
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-12-2016
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 1

Re: M2 to existing SSID for garage cams

Satellite Center and chapman1901 are both myself. Sorry for the confusion!

New Member
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-12-2016
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 1

Re: M2 to existing SSID for garage cams

Bueller

Regular Member
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎11-13-2017
Kudos: 176
Solutions: 14

Re: M2 to existing SSID for garage cams

[ Edited ]

So you are using the antenna from a home router? That is interesting.

You use 1 or 2 these antennas from home router? Can we see a photo of your Rocket M2 ?

 

And simple give your Rocket a static IP address outside your DHCP range.

New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-12-2016

Re: M2 to existing SSID for garage cams

[ Edited ]

I'll give it a shot and follow up. Thank you for your reply @PeterK2. I am using antennas off a Zyxel or Actiontec DSL modem. I'll snap a pic. 

Highlighted
Regular Member
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎11-13-2017
Kudos: 176
Solutions: 14
New Member
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-12-2016
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 1

Re: M2 to existing SSID for garage cams

I got this going - not sure what the issue was. I followed this guide and I'm up and running in 5 min. https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/205197710-airMAX-Configure-a-Long-Range-WiFi-Client

 

Follow the steps then use the picture. Steps are not complete compared to picture.

New Member
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-12-2016
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 1

Re: M2 to existing SSID for garage cams

Followed this guide - easy. Up in 5 min.

 

https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/205197710-airMAX-Configure-a-Long-Range-WiFi-Client 

 

Pics of airmax radio to come!