Scheduled maintenance: Community will be offline Monday June 17th, 1:00 AM - 6:00 AM (PT)
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-23-2017
Solutions: 1
Accepted Solution

Nanobeam NBE-5AC-16, trouble moving to a new network

I had another thread earlier and thought I had solved the moving, but no. https://community.ubnt.com/t5/airMAX-Installation/Old-nanostation-loco-M5-in-new-lan-howto-reset-cha...

 

The problem is the nanobeam on the other house. The one on my house - where the internet-broadband is, I have managed to change ip on - doing the reset on the poe, but in the other end on the other nanobeam I can't get it work through the poe and a laptop without internet.

 

I tried today to unmount the nanobeam, but the electrician who mounted it must have turned on too tight and it seems not possible to unmount it (by hand). Before I buy a new one to replace I must ask here.

 

1. Is it correct - as to the manual - when mounting one should "turn against clock" and unmount "turn with clock" (clockvice)? I think I have to use som tools as last resort.

2. Can a reset direct on the nanobeam give me back the original ip 192.168.1.20?

3. If NO.2 can be done, is it possible to config the nanobeam with a laptop which have no internet (out of range)? 

 

If NO.3 is not possible, I must unmount the nanobeam (or buy a new one).

 

Please advise me.


Accepted Solutions
SuperUser
Posts: 42,838
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanobeam NBE-5AC-16, trouble moving to a new network

[ Edited ]

I think you're hung in the middle; you need to apply the changes

on the Wireless tab before they can take effect.

 

That 192.168.1.52 IP address will not be used; the AirGateway

will receive an IP address from your router.

 

Firmware is out of date.   Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com

View solution in original post


All Replies
SuperUser
Posts: 42,838
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanobeam NBE-5AC-16, trouble moving to a new network

1> this depends on your point of reference, of course. Assuming

     you hold the radio in one hand with the mount facing you--

     and the front [antenna] side facing away, press the release

     button on the large mounting ring down firmly and rotate

     the ring annti-clockwise to loosen. You need to look for that

     release button; it could be at an point around the edge of the ring

 

2> yes: there is a tiny reset button near the Ethernet port; use a

      large paperclip or very small flat-blade screwdriver, and while the

      power is on, press gently unitil you hear a faint click and hold

      pressed for at least 10sec; you will see the LEDs flash

 

3> NBE-5AC Gen2 radios have a built-in WiFi radio for configuration;

     older ones do not; check the QSG for details

 

Dave

 


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-23-2017
Solutions: 1

Re: Nanobeam NBE-5AC-16, trouble moving to a new network

Thanks a lot, Dave.

 

I must use hard force and a breaker to remove the nanobeam from the wall. (The nanobeam not damaged).

 

I have now config it at home an found that I have succeded in reset it through my earlier attempts. I have used the same settings as I had earlier, but changed of course the ip. The dashboard seems also ok and putting on the ubiquiti airGateway LR I could login on that local network (and on internet from it) with the old user password from the previous network, but when I travelled to the other house and mounted the nanobeam and gave power to the poe connected to the airgateway I had no internet. Using "Fing" I could see the ip and a warning: double ip: 192.168.1.1 and 192.168.1.205 where it should be only the last one. 192.168.1.1 is my home broadband. In fact it only show 192.168.1.1.(1). Login in from my mobil to that network was possible, but with warning "no internet".

 

I think the airGateway must be config again, but how to do that? I can't login (wrong user or password). How to reset? What is the "dummy" ip if I can reset it? The manual is very poor on this question.

 

Must the airgateway be connected to my laptop (at home) without connection to a nanobeam or ? Must I have to unmount the nanobeam on the other house and bring it home again to be able to reset and config the airGateway? Or must the config be done in the other house where it will be later?

 

Ps. Is a RS-signal on -49 up to -52 good?

 

SuperUser
Posts: 42,838
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanobeam NBE-5AC-16, trouble moving to a new network

[ Edited ]

Sorry, but if I understand this correctly, you want to

use a NBE-5AC radio as a WiFi access point and

connect your AirGateway to it as a client.

 

If so, this won't work. No AirMax 'AC' radio is compatible

with WiFi; these radios are only for links to other radios.

 

Has this every worked with your AirGateway?   Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-23-2017
Solutions: 1

Re: Nanobeam NBE-5AC-16, trouble moving to a new network

[ Edited ]

Hi,

Sorry for not beeing accurate.

I have two nanobeams - one in my house and one in my sons house. The first one as AP PtP and the second one as Station PTP. Thie last one is connected with the airgateway giving me a subnetwork. They are connected with the poe (the airgateway  beeing a fysical a part of the poe). That worked well in the old setting, but now it seems neccesary to reset and give the airgateway new config.

 

In the manual from ubnt it is advised to login/use 192.168.1.1 for the airgateway, but it seems to conflict with my main router home with the same ip - or will that work ok?

SuperUser
Posts: 42,838
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanobeam NBE-5AC-16, trouble moving to a new network

It's clear you're describing two separate elements:

one is the pair of NBE-5AC radios as a link, and the

other the AirGateway as an access point.

 

First, I'll assume the radio link is working properly;

you can test that by connecting a PC to the LAN

port of the distant NBE.

 

And you're right: the AirGateway must not use the

same IP address as any other device--especially

not the router. To set the AirGateway to a new

IP address, you must take it off the network and

change the configuration using a PC--which must

be temporarily set to a static IP address in its

network; use 192.168.1.101 for example.

 

You may be able to set the AirGateway to use DHCP

instead of setting a static IP address. In that case, its

address is assigned by your router.   Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-23-2017
Solutions: 1

Re: Nanobeam NBE-5AC-16, trouble moving to a new network

Thanks Dave

 

Now I hope I got all OK, but a last question: I enclose a pic of the subnetwork and like to point at the ip settings. Can the fallback be the same as the lan ip? As I use 192.168.10.1 home I thought it is better with 192.168.2.1 when 192.168.1.1 is in use in the other end.

 

subnetwork.jpg
SuperUser
Posts: 42,838
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanobeam NBE-5AC-16, trouble moving to a new network

You have added another layer of complexity by using

'SOHO Router' mode; you don't need another router.

Instead, put the radio in bridge mode and set DHCP.

 

If you won't do that, you must be sure that the WAN

and LAN subnets are different; here they are both 2.n.

If they're the same, the router can't route and there

will be no service at all.   Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
SuperUser
Posts: 42,838
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanobeam NBE-5AC-16, trouble moving to a new network

[ Edited ]

I hope I'm not confusing you more!

 

First be sure the radio link is working properly by

plugging a PC into it at your son's house; if not,

nothing else you do will work.

 

If you want your son to be on the same network

you are, then set the AirGateway to bridge mode.

He will receive IP addresses from your router.

 

If you want your son to be isolated from your network,

leave the AirGateway as it is in SOHO Router mode.

That will turn on the AirGateway internal router.

 

I thnk the confusion here is about SOHO Router:

in this mode, the WAN is the external network--

your home network on the radio link--and it

enters the AirGatway via its LAN port. And the

AirGateway LAN appears on its WiFi radio.

 

You should be able to set its WAN to DHCP mode,

instead of assigning it an address. If you do decide

to assign it an address on your network, be very

sure it isn't an address already in use.

 

You can also set its LAN IP address to 192.168.2.1.

That will also be its management LAN address. You

must turn on DHCP so your son's devices will get

an automatic IP address as usual.    Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-23-2017
Solutions: 1

Re: Nanobeam NBE-5AC-16, trouble moving to a new network

[ Edited ]

Thanks Dave

 

I have been looking for a setup with everybody on my sons house as part of my own network which should give me access to overlooking data use.

 

Reading you I hope it will work giving the airGateway 192.168.1.52 - enclose a pic with that. And another pic of the main page config where it still show Network mode: SOHO router etc. May be this has nothing to do with my bridge (in the network page).

main.jpg
bridge2.jpg
SuperUser
Posts: 42,838
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanobeam NBE-5AC-16, trouble moving to a new network

[ Edited ]

I think you're hung in the middle; you need to apply the changes

on the Wireless tab before they can take effect.

 

That 192.168.1.52 IP address will not be used; the AirGateway

will receive an IP address from your router.

 

Firmware is out of date.   Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-23-2017
Solutions: 1

Re: Nanobeam NBE-5AC-16, trouble moving to a new network

Thank you very much, Dave

 

Now it work OK and my 50 mbps home is measured to 50 mbps from the airgateway. It varies of course because I have a wireless broadband from my provider and all depend of how many and how much other use. Now I must write down the solution and take some copies of the setup to avoid simular problems some years ahead.

 

Sorry for using so much of your time, but it was very important for me. Thanks again.

 

Regards,

Llars