Scheduled maintenance: Community will be offline Monday June 17th, 1:00 AM - 6:00 AM (PT)
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-15-2016
Accepted Solution

Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

Hello,

 

So I have 2 NanoStation M5's.  I set them up and it was fairly seemless to get them to talk to each other.  When I went to Deploy them I ran into an issue where on the Station M5 it isn't handing out an IP from the secondary port nor if I manually set the IP of the device I plug in, does it show up on the network.  I am not sure why.

 

My configuration is as follows:

NanoStation M5 Access Point is beaming to remote gate.

NanoStation M5 Station is receiving beam from gate.  
I have a local Ubiquiti POE injector feeding POE to the "Main" port on the NS 'Station' at the gate. 

The Secondary POE Lan from the NS 'Station' is feeding into the LAN port of the camera's POE injector.  

Feeding POE back out of the cameras' POE injector to the camera.  

 

The camera powers up and calibrates itself (it is a PTZ) when I plug it in but does not show up on my network. 

I pulled the camera down and set it up back at the router and statically assigned an IP.  When re-installing it it still did not show up on the network. 

I plugged my laptop into the Secondary port of the NS 'Station" at the gate and my laptop did not get an IP. 

 

I am not sure why the camera nor my PC is not populating on the LAN.  Any ideas?  Below are some screenshots of my configuration for the NanoStation's 'Access Point' and 'Station' that i've set up. 

 

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you. 

AP Network.pngAP Wireless.pngStation Network.pngStation Wireless.png


Accepted Solutions
SuperUser
Posts: 42,839
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

I see several settings that are not optimum:

 

first, enable 'WDS transparent mode' on both radios; this alone may

   solve your issue, but do the other things here too

> ...on the Station M5 it isn't handing out an IP from the secondary port'
   implies that you expect the radio to provide an IP address [via DHCP];

   these radios are in network bridge mode and do no provide DHCP service

> don't use 'auto' channel; instead set to one in the 5700Mhz range

   [enable Frequency list' to select a channel]

> use 20MHz channel width--not 40, for better stability

> don't set power output at maximum; reduce by 3dBm [to 23dBm]

> of course, be sure you update to the latest firmware.  Dave

 


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com

View solution in original post


All Replies
SuperUser
Posts: 42,839
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

I see several settings that are not optimum:

 

first, enable 'WDS transparent mode' on both radios; this alone may

   solve your issue, but do the other things here too

> ...on the Station M5 it isn't handing out an IP from the secondary port'
   implies that you expect the radio to provide an IP address [via DHCP];

   these radios are in network bridge mode and do no provide DHCP service

> don't use 'auto' channel; instead set to one in the 5700Mhz range

   [enable Frequency list' to select a channel]

> use 20MHz channel width--not 40, for better stability

> don't set power output at maximum; reduce by 3dBm [to 23dBm]

> of course, be sure you update to the latest firmware.  Dave

 


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

Dave,

 

Thank you for your reply.  Next time I am on site I will apply those changes and see what occurs.  

 

To your point about the station bring in bridge mode and not DHCP, I thought the router would still handle handing our IP addresses?  I apologize for my ignorance, but due to the Point to Point of the nanostation, does the router not handle handing out IP's on the other end of the NS?   I assumed this would work like a standard network at the other end.  I did statically set my camera on the station side and it still wasn't communicating with the NVR nor showing up on any IP scans.  

SuperUser
Posts: 42,839
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

This may work properly when you set 'WDS transparent mode'.

Please report your results.   Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

OK,

So I am back on site now. I did the changes Dave-D recommended:

1. WDS was enabled on both radios.
2. Auto channel was changed to selecting the enable frequency list and selected 5745 on both radios.
3. I changed both channel widths to 20Mhz instead of 40Mhz.
4. I reduced both power on the antennas to 19 dBm. The signal was still very good.

At this point, I did an IP scan and the IP Camera still would not show up. Looking back at your comment;

"...on the Station M5 it isn't handing out an IP from the secondary port'
implies that you expect the radio to provide an IP address [via DHCP];
these radios are in network bridge mode and do no provide DHCP service"

I did some more searching on the forums and read some stuff about changing my AP radio to router mode. First I turned my Station to Bridge mode. Then I went to change my AP to router mode. Unfortunately I can't get any more information because both radios have disappeared off my network and I can't talk to them. I am not sure what to do next. I think I need to physically plug my computer into them now.

Both radios & PTZ camera are mounted high up on buildings and hard to access. I am feeling like I need to uninstall them all and bring them back into the house where I can set up a test bench to get all this stuff talking correctly where I can easily plug into them or factory reset them if there is an issue.

I'll send this message out and hopefully someone tell me there is an easier way before I go through all this trouble.

Thank you for your responses so far, I really do appreciate the help.
SuperUser
Posts: 42,839
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

Please stop trying to randomly change settings; it's impossible

to be sure what has changed. If you want more help, you can

post the Main/Wireless/Network/Advanced tab screenshots

for both radios.   Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
SuperUser
Posts: 13,909
Registered: ‎10-06-2013
Kudos: 4678
Solutions: 1060

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

[ Edited ]

Lots of good advice from Dave-D as usual.

 

However,  what camera are you using and more importantly what voltage is it?

If it is an IP camera that is designed for 802.3af 48 volts working then it will not power up via the PoE Passthrough on the NSM5.

If however it is a passive 24 volt camera then you will need a 1000mA PoE injector rather than the 500mA Poe injector that comes with the NSM5 as standard issue.

UK Comms & Links Engineer.


Come on you lot, Feel free to 'Mark as Solution' At least click the Kudos button. Thanks.


Top Solution Authors Leaderboard
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

OK, i'm back on site today for another go around.

 

I have been able to get my NS's back to speaking to each other how they were previously.  I did re-wire my POE injectors to avoid using the Secondary output on the Station.  They are now wired as follows; NS Main out > Ubiquiti POE injector POE > Ubiquiti POE Injector LAN > Camera POE injector LAN > Camera POE injector POE > Camera

 

The camera still hasn't shown up and still is not speaking across the bridge. 

 

Here are photos of my configuration so far. 

House Main.png
House Network.png
House System.png
House Ubi.png
House Wireless.png
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

Here are the Gate NS config photos. 

Gate Advanced.png
Gate Main.png
Gate Network.png
Gate Ubi.png
Gate Wireless.png
SuperUser
Posts: 42,839
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

These are all screenshots of the radio link, but it's not

even clear if the camera is operating properly yet.

 

If you connect your PC to the network at the remote

camera site, can you access the camera properly?   Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

Well, I did bring the camera locally to the switch connected to the router at the main house and set up the camera to a static IP and set it up on the NVR before I remotely installed it.  It was working then. 

 

I will bring my PC up to the gate and connect up there to see 2 things:

1. is my PC able to be assigned an IP from the NS directly.  Can it access the main network back at the house?

2. I will ping and try to connect to the camera locally at the gate and see if it's properly functional out there.  

New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

OK.

I brought my PC up to the Gate. Plugged my PC into the LAN of the poe injector feeding the Station. My PC was set to DHCP and automatically got an IP address and I was able to connect to the main network and even browse the internet! So that is progress!

Oddly enough, when I connected my PC to the secondary LAN port of the Station I would not get an address. So it appears my re-wiring was good to do. I'm going to ignore why the secondary isn't giving me an address as in this situation it no longer matters.

However... when I then tried to connect my PC to the LAN of the Cameras POE injector I could not talk to the camera. Obviously my PC was on DHCP and there was no router, so I statically set my PC. I still could not talk to the camera. I was getting a weird connect/disconnect message from my network page of my PC.

So I assume hardware failure. I removed the camera and POE injector and brought it back to the main house and re-connected it to the main network and BOOM, the camera works perfectly fine and connects to the NVR and is working. Man, I am puzzled.

 

Here is a photo of the cameras network config. 

PTZ cam net.png
SuperUser
Posts: 42,839
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

[ Edited ]

If the only element of your setup that changed when

you moved the camera back 'home' are the cables,

then this is a cable issue. I assume you used the

same PoE power suppy in both places.

 

Note this can't be a setting or network issue if neither

of those changed during the move.   Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-15-2016

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

Finally resoled the issue today.

It was a triple theat issue, which of course when multiple things are wrong troubleshooting gets exponentially tougher.

1. WDS needed to be enabled. Thanks Dave-D!
2. The secondary out of the NS isn't passing DHCP. If I plug directly into it, nothing happens. No idea why, don't really care at this point. I originally had the Ubiquiti POE injector feeding POE into the Main on the NS. Then I went secondary out to the LAN in on the Camera POE injector. I 'assumed' that the main and secondary ports on the NS was basically like a switch like how the WAPs work. I guess I was wrong. So I re-wired the injectors as follows: NS Main out > Ubiquiti POE Injector POE > Ubiquiti POE injector LAN > camera POE injector LAN > camera POE injector POE > camera. I made this change (after the WDS setting change) and plugging into the Main at the device at the gate and my PC got network.
3. There was a wiring issue from the POE out of the camera injector to the camera. The wire LAN tested fine but had some unknown issue. It's pretty rare that a cable LAN tests without issue but doesn't work. I'm writing this up as a fluke. As a last ditch effort, I used a pre-made patch cord and the camera worked. So I retipped the ends of the cable ran through conduit and the camera came up immediately. Again, thanks for re-directing my attention to the basics Dave-D.

Cheers all, hope some poor sap in my position in the future finds this thread helpful.
SuperUser
Posts: 42,839
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8761
Solutions: 1491

Re: Nanostation M5's for remote IP Camera issue

You're welcome; feel free to mark posts you found helpful

as your 'solutions'.   Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com