Reply
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-06-2013
Kudos: 1
Accepted Solution

Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

Good morning all,

I am writing for assistance in the setup and configuration of a Point-to-Multipoint long-range WiFi signal, and I have purchased the following equipment;

  • 1 x Sector Antenna (5GHz, 19dBi, 120 degrees)
  • 1 x Rocket M5
  • 2 x NanoStation M5

I have configured the products so that there is a wireless bridge between the Rocket M5 (attached to the Sector Antenna) and 1 of the NanoStations, however I am unable to add another NanoStation and receive signal on the second one.

Could you assist in the configuration of these products? I am also unable to broadcast a wireless signal from the NanoStation so that wireless devices such as Laptops and Phones are able to connect.

PTMP.jpg

Any help would be very much appreciated.


Accepted Solutions
SuperUser
Posts: 40,770
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8260
Solutions: 1334

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

Follow this check list:

> upgrade all radios to the latest firmware
> set each of the three radios to a different
   IP address
> set the Rocket network mode to bridge
> set the Rocket wireless to AP-WDS mode; choose a
   channel in the 5800MHz range; set its SSID [wireless 'name']
> set each NanoStation to bridge mode,
> set each NanoStaton to station-WDS mode; with the same
   channel and the same SSID of the rocket

Let us know if the radios now associate.  Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com

View solution in original post


All Replies
SuperUser
Posts: 16,344
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Kudos: 5162
Solutions: 1736

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

If you have the Rocket as AP-WDS, then the Nanostations should be Station-WDS. There is no 're-broadcast' of wireless at the Stations. You probably want to hook up a 2GHz AP at the Stations so wireless clients can connect.
I did it my way .... Man Happy
New Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-30-2013

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

Did you change the second ones default ip diff from the first

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-06-2013
Kudos: 1

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

Yes, the IP addresses of the two NanoStations are different.

I should be able to connect wireless devices to these NanoStations though? I am not looking to broadcast the signal between the NanoStations, but instead from the Rocket to each NanoStation.

SuperUser
Posts: 40,770
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8260
Solutions: 1334

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

No, John, as 'flipper' explained, you should not be
able to connect wireless devices to the NanoStations.

At the 'LAN' port for each NanoStation, you can
connect a wired device such as a PC. You can
also connect a wireless router to that port to
act as an access point at that location.

And most wireless devices work in the 2.4GH band--
not the 5.8GHz band these radios use.  Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-06-2013
Kudos: 1

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

I understand. The plan is connect a Wireless Router to the NanoStations LAN port, and connect devices that way.

Perhaps you could help with getting both NanoStations connected up to the Rocket M5 sir?

Thank you for your help thus far.

SuperUser
Posts: 40,770
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8260
Solutions: 1334

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

Follow this check list:

> upgrade all radios to the latest firmware
> set each of the three radios to a different
   IP address
> set the Rocket network mode to bridge
> set the Rocket wireless to AP-WDS mode; choose a
   channel in the 5800MHz range; set its SSID [wireless 'name']
> set each NanoStation to bridge mode,
> set each NanoStaton to station-WDS mode; with the same
   channel and the same SSID of the rocket

Let us know if the radios now associate.  Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-06-2013
Kudos: 1

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

Dave, thank you very much indeed for the instruction check list.

I am unable to proceed with them until tomorrow morning, but will be report back as soon as possible once I have followed your previous post accordingly.

As far as I am aware, when I set the second NanoStation to Bridge mode, and Station WDS-mode neither connected to the Rocket, but nevertheless, I shall try again properly as soon as possible.

Thanks once again.

 

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-06-2013
Kudos: 1

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

Hi Dave,

I have followed the check list you suggested and there is no freequency in the 5800MHz range. Instead the highest available is 5760MHz.

When I changed the NanoStations to Station-WDS on the same channel, I couldn't connect to either of the NanoStations, or see them when using the Discovery tool on the Rocket M5. 

 

Perhaps you can provide some further assistance?

Emerging Member
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎08-23-2013
Kudos: 9

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

[ Edited ]

Just a shot in the dark, Make sure on the left most tab, that long range PTP link box is UNchecked. Only 1 station will connect if this is checked. This would be on the AP radio...

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 11,190
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Kudos: 3528
Solutions: 729
Contributions: 73

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)


JonBastyan wrote:

Hi Dave,

I have followed the check list you suggested and there is no freequency in the 5800MHz range. Instead the highest available is 5760MHz.

When I changed the NanoStations to Station-WDS on the same channel, I couldn't connect to either of the NanoStations, or see them when using the Discovery tool on the Rocket M5. 

 

Perhaps you can provide some further assistance?


How far away from the Rocket are you ?

Do you see the Rockets SSID if you do a Site Survey (in Toolbox) ?  

Can you post screenshots of the Wireless tab from the Rocket and the NS that won't connect ?

 

 

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

FREE UBWA Student Guide-Great RF Primer!

New Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-06-2013
Kudos: 1

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

No need. All sorted.

 

Did a quite reset of one NanoStation and followed Daves instructions again and it worked.

 

Thank you to everyone who took the time to reply to this thread.

Daves instructions should be in the manual and a knowledge base article in its self!!!!

SuperUser
Posts: 40,770
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8260
Solutions: 1334

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

Thanks for that! Sounds like a 'solution' to me.

Good luck,  Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-03-2013

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

hello mister ubntwork

New Member
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-22-2013
Kudos: 1

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

I confess I am not yet knowledgeable of the Rocket M5.   I need to configure it so talk to 3  nano loco M5.   At present the Rocket is set to station and two of the three are set to station and one is an AP.   When I go to discovery I can see all four devices, three stations and one AP.   IP traffic is moving and I can see the cameras, although one camera seems to be having trouble keeping on-line with packets.   This does not  seem to me to be the correct way to setup the Rocket and the loco's?   I would expect to setup the Rocket as a station and the loco's as AP's?  

SuperUser
Posts: 40,770
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8260
Solutions: 1334

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

> set the Rocket wireless to AP-WDS mode; choose a
   channel in the 5800MHz range; set its SSID [wireless 'name']
> set each NanoStaton to station-WDS mode; with the same
   channel and the same SSID of the rocket    Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-22-2013
Kudos: 1

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

Roger WILCO

New Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-05-2014

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

Hello all,

   i have same scenario of Point to MultiPoint.

 

 Rocket M5 with ENH500

u1.jpg

 

 

Cinfigured Rocket M5 as Accesspoint with WDS enabled.

 

selected ENH500 as WDS bridge mode. did site survey and can able to see Rocket M5 but cannot connect it.

changed to WDS station mode too. but cannot connect with M5.

 

i appreciate if any one can help me with this configuration.

 

Thanks in Advance

 

SuperUser
Posts: 13,625
Registered: ‎10-06-2013
Kudos: 4533
Solutions: 1031

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

May I suggest that you do 2 things.

1 - Start a new thread on the subject. 2 - Ditch the EnGenius kit.

UK Comms & Links Engineer.


Come on you lot, Feel free to 'Mark as Solution' At least click the Kudos button. Thanks.


Top Solution Authors Leaderboard
SuperUser
Posts: 16,344
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Kudos: 5162
Solutions: 1736

Re: Point-to-Multipoint Setup (Rocket M5 and NanoStation M5)

WDS may not be compatible between the Rocket and your ENH500s.
I did it my way .... Man Happy
Reply