Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: Wednesday

adding to network

I have had working an m5 to m5 bridge for the last several years, we recently added another building, and so now I need to change my network just a bit

 

now I have  Office M5 <---> Plant M5

 

I want to have Office M5 < --- > Plant M5 and Office M5 < --- > Shop M5

or do I have to have a second M5 at the office end?

New Member
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Kudos: 2

Re: adding to network

if plant and shop have line of sight with the AP i dont see why you need to add another AP

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 9,413
Registered: ‎04-14-2017
Kudos: 1763
Solutions: 271

Re: adding to network

Can you show where these locations are on a diagram relative to one another?
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: Wednesday

Re: adding to network

[ Edited ]

they are about 30 degrees from each other.

 

but the new one can't see in a scan the original access point.   It can see the unifi that is inside 3 steel walls behind it that is for the inside of the building it is on.   

 

I am not sure it is scanning the correct frequencies

 

this is the access point

Device Model:NanoStation loco M5
Device Name:NanoStation Loco M5 Office
Network Mode:Bridge
Wireless Mode:Access Point WDS
SSID:bridge2
Security:WPA2-AES
Version:v6.1.8 (XW)
Uptime:17 days 00:27:23
Date:2018-12-07 15:40:07
Channel/Frequency:32 / 5160 MHz
Channel Width:40 MHz (Upper)
Frequency Band:5150 - 5190 MHz
Distance:0.3 miles (0.5 km)
TX/RX Chains:2X2
TX Power:23 dBm
Antenna:Built in - 13 dBi
WLAN0 MAC:**:C4:9D
LAN0 MAC:**:C4:9D
LAN0:100Mbps-Full
 
this is the new other end of the bridge - it connected to the unifi but couldn't see the bridge
 
Device Model:NanoStation loco M5
Device Name:NanoStation Loco M5 Shop
Network Mode:Bridge
Wireless Mode:Station WDS
SSID:redacted
Security:WPA2-AES
Version:v6.1.8 (XW)
Uptime:20:47:32
Date:2018-12-07 09:40:48
Channel/Frequency:157 / 5785 MHz
Channel Width:40 MHz (Upper)
Frequency Band:5775 - 5815 MHz
Distance:0.5 miles (0.8 km)
TX/RX Chains:2X2
TX Power:23 dBm
Antenna:Built in - 13 dBi
WLAN0 MAC:**:BB:64
LAN0 MAC:**:BB:64
LAN0:100Mbps-Full
 
Senior Member
Posts: 3,136
Registered: ‎07-17-2010
Kudos: 706
Solutions: 179

Re: adding to network

What model is the new one?

 

It likely doesn't have the lower bands activated.

 

To test this, change the ap frequency to somewhere in UNII-3  range 5725-5845

 

Once we know the new radio model and firmware we can see if it can be activated to use lower bands.

 

@timlitw

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 11,300
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Kudos: 3557
Solutions: 735
Contributions: 73

Re: adding to network

If @j2840fl suggestion works, you can request an unlock code for any devices missing lower bands (assuming you are located in the USA)  Please see HERE.

UBNT_Alternate_Logo.png
Ubiquiti Networks airMAX Support Team

Check out our ever-evolving Help Center for answers to many common questions!

FREE UBWA Student Guide-Great RF Primer!

Reply