Scheduled maintenance: Community will be offline Monday June 17th, 1:00 AM - 6:00 AM (PT)
New Member
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-08-2014

Rocket M5 +3AirGrid network - how to setup routing?

[ Edited ]

Hi everyone.

I'm bulding little network where RocketM5 is in AP-mode and 3 AirGrids are in Station-mode. Connection works fine but I have problems with internet from computers behind AirGrids. I think it's routing problem.

My setup:
All Rocket and AirGrid setup as routers
Internet provider router - 192.168.1.1/24

1. Rocket M5:
LAN0 - 192.168.1.100/24 as WAN
WLAN0 - 10.0.0.1/29 as LAN

2. AirGrid 1:
LAN0 - 192.168.11.1/24 as LAN with DHCP server on
WLAN0 - 10.0.0.2/29 as WAN

3. AirGrid 2:
LAN0 - 192.168.12.1/24 as LAN with DHCP server on
WLAN0 - 10.0.0.3/29 as WAN

4. AirGrid 3:
LAN0 - 192.168.13.1/24 as LAN with DHCP server on
WLAN0 - 10.0.0.4/29 as WAN

How to setup routing or how to change my setup to work like this? I need every network behind every single AirGrid to be separated network (i mean another network adresses)

 

Established Member
Posts: 2,025
Registered: ‎08-16-2010
Kudos: 568
Solutions: 150

Re: Rocket M5 +3AirGrid network - how to setup routing?

I would set the rocket in bridge mode with an ip within the 192.168.1.X subnet and  also set wlans on the airgrids within that same subnet.

SuperUser
Posts: 42,829
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8760
Solutions: 1491

Re: Rocket M5 +3AirGrid network - how to setup routing?

[ Edited ]

I'm also not sure why you have both the Rocket
and the client radios in router mode. I would also
put the Rocket in bridge mode.

But turn 'client isolation' mode on for every client.
Turn on WDS mode for all radios.  Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-08-2014

Re: Rocket M5 +3AirGrid network - how to setup routing?

SDA and DAVE-D - You are right, Rocket need to be in bridge mode Man Happy I got only one more problem - after that changes connection to internet does'n work till I add route to default gateway using ssh. Any suggestions where's the problem? Is there a bug in AirOS?? I'm using 5.5.8.

SuperUser
Posts: 42,829
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
Kudos: 8760
Solutions: 1491

Re: Rocket M5 +3AirGrid network - how to setup routing?

"...turn 'client isolation' mode on for every client.
Turn on WDS mode for all radios."  Dave


> HQ in Seacoast region New Hampshire U.S.A.
> Ubiquiti Certified Trainer [UCT] for:
     UBWA [AirMax] / UEWA [UniFi] / UBRSS [routers]
UBNT.NH@gmail.com
New Member
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-08-2014

Re: Rocket M5 +3AirGrid network - how to setup routing?

Client isolation is turned on on Rocket because it is in AP-mode - AirGrid are Stations so there is no option to turn on client isolation. WDS is selected in Rocket and all AirGrids and it doesn't work till I add manual route using ssh. What else can I check or what can I paste in here ?

Established Member
Posts: 2,025
Registered: ‎08-16-2010
Kudos: 568
Solutions: 150

Re: Rocket M5 +3AirGrid network - how to setup routing?

Can you post pictures of your network tabs for both AP and a station?

New Member
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-08-2014

Re: Rocket M5 +3AirGrid network - how to setup routing?

I think I found where the problem is - when I turned on NAT everything works fine now. I have to check my router config.

Established Member
Posts: 2,025
Registered: ‎08-16-2010
Kudos: 568
Solutions: 150

Re: Rocket M5 +3AirGrid network - how to setup routing?

Yes I thought that might have been the problem.

Good to see you've sorted it out

New Member
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-08-2014

Re: Rocket M5 +3AirGrid network - how to setup routing?

Thanks for all help