Kudos: 4

[SOLVED] Any support or work arounds for Amazon Echo?

[ Edited ]

Hello, 

Wondering if anyone knows any ways to get Amazon Echo to somehow work with mfi? 

I've seen some possibly promising things with UCI portal or IFTTT.  Or even get mfi to integrate with phillips hue hub? 

I am by no means a programmer or coder, but I have a pretty sweet setup over the past year in my house with about 10 dimmers, several outlets, motion sensor, some door sensors, AP, router, and switch, all managed with mfi and unifi controller.  

Now my mother in law just bought me an amazon echo for Christmas :/ 

Any thoughts or help would be greatly appreciated 

Highlighted

Re: Any support or work arounds for Amazon Echo?

[ Edited ]

OK I got it working!!!!!

Can now run any scene throughout my whole house by telling alexa to do it.  Woohoo!

So......heres the tutorial for anyone interested.  first off, Its a little hacky, but now that its all setup, it works quite well, and takes me about 1 minute to create a new scene and make alexa start controlling it.  I spent several days trying to get this to work on OSX, and kept having SSL protocol errors when trying to cURL from terminal.  So I did a fresh install of ubuntu 14.04, and voila, no more ssl protocol errors.  So I highly encourage anyone wanting to do this to be using ubuntu. 

In this tutorial I am going to provide some links of sources which I used to help me figure this all out, so thank you to all the people who's work I am linking to.

General Overview:

1. You will need an amazon echo (obviously)

2. IFTTT account (www.ifttt.com) with the ifttt skill enabled in alexa app

3. Dropbox installed on your ubuntu machine and dropbox account linked to your IFTTT account

4. Create a script which will cURL to your mfi controller and run a scene

5. using incrontab to monitor directories and run a script each time a file is added to a directory