Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-30-2014
Kudos: 1
Accepted Solution

mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

Hello,

Is there a possibility to change the name of the port visible in the web interface mpower. Of course I'm talking about the change from the console (via ssh)

 

sys ver: 2.0.24

 

Thank you for your help


Accepted Solutions
Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 627
Registered: ‎06-27-2012
Kudos: 375
Solutions: 31
Contributions: 6

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

centeno was on the right path.  You don't need all the items in that file, since they correspond to how data gets sent to the controller (which doesn't exist in this case).

 

Just add this line, with your machine name, to /etc/persistent/cfg/config_file:

 

port.0.label=Backyard Flood Lights

If you have multiple ports, the number corresponds to port-1.

 

The 'save' and 'reboot'.

 

And we'll probably add a gui and move the config to /tmp/system.cfg

View solution in original post


All Replies
Regular Member
Posts: 610
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
Kudos: 144
Solutions: 5

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

[ Edited ]

/system.cgi webpage

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-30-2014
Kudos: 1

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

 I do not have any file with the entry in the directory / usr / www and I have no file by that name (webpage).
Regular Member
Posts: 610
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
Kudos: 144
Solutions: 5

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?


@centeno wrote:

/system.cgi webpage


I meant the webpage, not the file. That is http://mfi_IP_address/system.cgi

Member
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎03-06-2013
Kudos: 56
Solutions: 1

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

Thank you for mentioning this.  Very helpful.  The mFi controller is undependable when it comes to setting the host name.

 

Just to clarify for others, there is no link for the system.cgi page on any of the three easy-to-reach pages (Controls, Stats, Configuration).  You have to craft the URL to get there.

 

Like this:  http://192.168.1.70/system.cgi

 

Or this works too:  http://192.168.1.70/system

 

Once you enter the new 'Device name', and any other items you wish to edit, click the 'Change' button.  The 'Apply' banner will soon appear.

 

Here's where the wheels come off the wagon, at least in my installation (2.0.24, build 1277).  The 'Apply' button on this page does not work.  So just click over to the 'Configuration' page and click its 'Apply' button.

 

Finally, you must reboot the mFi appliance.  When it comes back to life its new host name will be active.  Launch a Ubiquity discover probe to confirm this.

 

I noticed a couple of interesting things while working with this:

 

1.  The host name can contain spaces.

2.  Minor name changes, such as change of case, will be ignored.

 

 

 

Emerging Member
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-10-2014
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 1

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

The System page for version 2.1.1 does not seem to have the option to give the ports names.

Member
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎03-06-2013
Kudos: 56
Solutions: 1

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?


@Automate1 wrote:

The System page for version 2.1.1 does not seem to have the option to give the ports names.


Do you mean the individual device ports, for example the three outlets of an mPower?

 

I've never found a means to name them in the appliance so I'm pretty sure this is a feature of the mFi controller only.

 

But the host name is something that every server has, including every mFi appliance.

 

I don't yet have 2.1.1.  Can you tell me if the host name support is still included on the system.cgi page?  Has the 'Apply' button emerged from its coma?

 

 

Emerging Member
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-10-2014
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 1

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

[ Edited ]

Yes, I want to give each port a name.

 

Here is what the screen looks like

mFi System.png

Regular Member
Posts: 610
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
Kudos: 144
Solutions: 5

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

[ Edited ]

The only way I found on the old firmware was to edit cfg/config_file. However, you might need to use the controller to set the fields initially, since the web gui doesn't allow you and have no idea where to find the variables

 

By the way port.0 corresponds to vpower.1

 

port.0.model=Outlet
port.0.label=name
port.0.sensorId=xxxxx
vpower.1.rep_output=1
vpower.1.rep_pf=1
vpower.1.rep_energy_sum=1
vpower.1.rep_v_rms=1
vpower.1.rep_i_rms=1
vpower.1.rep_active_pwr=1
vpower.1.relay=1
vpower.1.lock=0
vpower.1.output_tag=output
vpower.1.pf_tag=pf
vpower.1.energy_sum_tag=energy_sum
vpower.1.v_rms_tag=v_rms
vpower.1.i_rms_tag=i_rms
vpower.1.active_pwr_tag=active_pwr

 

Emerging Member
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-10-2014
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 1

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

@UBNT-Randy there must be some way to do this since v2.1.1 is desgned to run controllerless.  

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 627
Registered: ‎06-27-2012
Kudos: 375
Solutions: 31
Contributions: 6

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

centeno was on the right path.  You don't need all the items in that file, since they correspond to how data gets sent to the controller (which doesn't exist in this case).

 

Just add this line, with your machine name, to /etc/persistent/cfg/config_file:

 

port.0.label=Backyard Flood Lights

If you have multiple ports, the number corresponds to port-1.

 

The 'save' and 'reboot'.

 

And we'll probably add a gui and move the config to /tmp/system.cfg

Emerging Member
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-10-2014
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 1

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?


@UBNT-Randy wrote:

centeno was on the right path.  You don't need all the items in that file, since they correspond to how data gets sent to the controller (which doesn't exist in this case).

 

Just add this line, with your machine name, to /etc/persistent/cfg/config_file:

 

port.0.label=Backyard Flood Lights

If you have multiple ports, the number corresponds to port-1.

 

The 'save' and 'reboot'.

 

And we'll probably add a gui and move the config to /tmp/system.cfg


This worked but now the monthly KW-H is not going up when the device is using Watts.  My November totals have not changed since the mPort was rebooted the day you posted.

Ubiquiti Employee
Posts: 627
Registered: ‎06-27-2012
Kudos: 375
Solutions: 31
Contributions: 6

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?


@Automate1 wrote:

@UBNT-Randy wrote:

centeno was on the right path.  You don't need all the items in that file, since they correspond to how data gets sent to the controller (which doesn't exist in this case).

 

Just add this line, with your machine name, to /etc/persistent/cfg/config_file:

 

port.0.label=Backyard Flood Lights

If you have multiple ports, the number corresponds to port-1.

 

The 'save' and 'reboot'.

 

And we'll probably add a gui and move the config to /tmp/system.cfg


This worked but now the monthly KW-H is not going up when the device is using Watts.  My November totals have not changed since the mPort was rebooted the day you posted.


The monthly kW-H on the embedded web page, or in the mFi controller?  Did you delete the other lines by mistake (that would stop the device from posting data to the mFi controller)

 

We just tested the embedded web page, and it worked. 

Emerging Member
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-10-2014
Kudos: 7
Solutions: 1

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

The embedded web page.  I'm running controllerless.

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-09-2014

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

[ Edited ]

Change mPower port / outlet name via SSH (without mFi controller).  This is applicable to firmware version 2.0.24.1227.

After many hours of struggling with this I found the following works.  It requires modifying the cfg/config_file with vi:

 

ssh ipAddressOfmPower -l username
cd cfg
vi config_file
:$
A
port.0.label=NameOfOutlet1
port.1.label=NameOfOutlet2
port.2.label=NameOfOutlet3
esc
:x
save
reboot

 

 

New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-30-2015

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

Does someone have updated instructions for V2.1.11 firmware because the file referenced does not exist?  Should we now be adding the port renaming lines to vpower_cfg file?

Established Member
Posts: 1,043
Registered: ‎02-17-2014
Kudos: 386
Solutions: 40

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

[ Edited ]

Randy said they were probably going to move it to /tmp/system.cfg

 

Unless I didn't understand what he was refering to....


@UBNT-Randy wrote:

centeno was on the right path.  You don't need all the items in that file, since they correspond to how data gets sent to the controller (which doesn't exist in this case).

 

Just add this line, with your machine name, to /etc/persistent/cfg/config_file:

 

port.0.label=Backyard Flood Lights

If you have multiple ports, the number corresponds to port-1.

 

The 'save' and 'reboot'.

 

And we'll probably add a gui and move the config to /tmp/system.cfg


 

New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-30-2015

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

That didn't work - tried that one as well vpower_cfg - anyone??

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-02-2015
Kudos: 2

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

[ Edited ]

OK so for anyone else who comes along to this thread:

 

UBNT-Randy was and still is correct.  As of the current version 2.1.11 at least

 

emmarichardson is also correct that the file /etc/persistant/cfg/config_file does not exist out of the box.  So the answer is you have to create it!  after ssh'ing into the mFi, relavant commands would be:

 

touch /etc/persistent/cfg/config_file

vi /etc/persistent/cfg/config_file

i

port.0.label=Backyard Flood Lights

[esc]

:wq

save

reboot

 

Remember the port numbering is 0 based.  So the port with the number 1 above it on the device is actually port 0 and the port with the 2 label above it is port 1 when in the config.  Hopefully this helps someone!  BTW, Ubiquiti:  If you change this in a future firmware update, would it be too much to ask to add that info to this thread, seeing as how there isn't a lot of information elsewhere on line about this.

 

*EDIT*  One additional note:  We are setting up around 30 of these and it turns out that there is no reboot required to set the port names.  Just create the file, fill it out and then save it.  Port names will *automagically* appear in the web GUI.  One other item I did find.  If you create the config_file and leave it empty the controls page in the webGUI will not populate the ports at all, none of the ports are displayed and it only shows the column labels.  So if you can't see anything on that page, then check for an empty config_file

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2016

Re: mpower - how to change port name without mfi controler?

Hello,

 

After creating the config_file and adding the desired port names i have the following problem: none of the stats are refreshing on the web page, and also the /proc/power files are showing no activity. 

 

After removing the config_file and save+reboot the metering function is working again but no port names obviously.

 

Any suggestions?

 

The device is:

v.2.1.11 mFi mPower pro  (P6E)

running controllerless

 

thx,

Zsolt

Reply